27 and a PhD

Home » Grad school » Woot woot! Guess who just got a raise?!

Woot woot! Guess who just got a raise?!

Welcome to my blog!

Hello there, awesome reader. My name is Dr. 27. I'm older than that now, but I'm staying faithful to the origins of the blog.

This blog started 2 months before completing my PhD in a pretty southern university back in 2009. It was a way to practice my writing and take a break from all things thesis. My PhD is in a branch of structural biology where I studied some rather impressive stuff.

After completing the degree, I packed my life of 6 years in 3 days and moved to Canada to do a postdoc in a completely different field. Two years later, and after attending a lot of seminars, workshops and doing some much-needed soul-searching, I ended up getting out and looking for an alternative path to academia and industry.

The blog chronicles my mishaps, ideas, musings and tips on entering, staying and finishing grad school. It also talks about some (or a lot) of personal stuff. For a while, the blog became a place to talk about the frustrations of not knowing what to do after PhD. I wanted to explore alternatives to the traditional paths of research (academia, industry and goverment) whilst going back to my field of training (if at all possible). Eventually a job materialized. Follow my quest as I navigate the waters of being a staff scientist at a core facility.

Calendar

July 2016
M T W T F S S
« May   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,627 other followers

Follow me

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Me, that’s who. What, what?!?

I’m so happy to be able to share those news. I was walking on pins and needles for a week before it was announced that I was to meet with two of my bosses (a departmental and a semi-external one … my dept is special like that). I crossed paths with the semi-external person and shared that I was queasy and they were all: “nah bro, it’s cool, it’s ok.” I’ve seen this attitude before and it has sort of backfired so I was still cautious.

Then we meet some time ago, went over the whole formal procedure (the way my uni phrases it is that it should be cordial and relaxed, like a low key staff meeting). And my goodness it was. We were all smiles and had concrete plans. I was asked about what I’d like to achieve in the next year, then my boss entered those plans in an online form that contains all my employee info. Then next year we can go through that and check off what was/wasn’t accomplished.

This is SO different than my last two jobs. At my first staff scientist job I was told of the results, but the meeting was conducted between my boss and the department head. At my former uni lots of things happened online, there was a face-to-face meeting that while cordial, it was still strained because my toxic PI was there, but not my department head.

Here I did some stuff online, but it gets printed out and I’m encouraged to write notes on the pages I’m given. And the form that my supervisor filled is available any time after the review, so I can add notes about progress, etc.

I feel like a HUGE weight has been lifted off my shoulders. And I got a 2% raise. It doesn’t look that impressive on paper (because of taxes and employee contributions I will see pennies instead of dollars), but I feel appreciated, valued … like my efforts count, you know? I am happy.

1 Comment

  1. […] interactions with the boss … but I’m cautiously optimistic until I see what he has to say. Done! I got a small bump in my pay and got a fabulous first review. I was able to put forward some ideas […]

What's your take?

