27 and a PhD

Home » Job » Zombie

Zombie

Welcome to my blog!

Hello there, awesome reader. My name is Dr. 27. I'm older than that now, but I'm staying faithful to the origins of the blog.

This blog started 2 months before completing my PhD in a pretty southern university back in 2009. It was a way to practice my writing and take a break from all things thesis. My PhD is in a branch of structural biology where I studied some rather impressive stuff.

After completing the degree, I packed my life of 6 years in 3 days and moved to Canada to do a postdoc in a completely different field. Two years later, and after attending a lot of seminars, workshops and doing some much-needed soul-searching, I ended up getting out and looking for an alternative path to academia and industry.

The blog chronicles my mishaps, ideas, musings and tips on entering, staying and finishing grad school. It also talks about some (or a lot) of personal stuff. For a while, the blog became a place to talk about the frustrations of not knowing what to do after PhD. I wanted to explore alternatives to the traditional paths of research (academia, industry and goverment) whilst going back to my field of training (if at all possible). Eventually a job materialized. Follow my quest as I navigate the waters of being a staff scientist at a core facility.

Calendar

July 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,635 other followers

Follow me

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

That’s how I feel. Days before my period I feel like a zombie. I can sleep as little as 4 hours and as much as 12, yet I feel tired all the time. I feel bloated. I can’t even look at my chest because my breasts feel like they’re going to explode. I look tired, I feel tired. I’m hungry at all hours, and I especially dislike coming to work. The moment my period ends, my life goes back to normal. So does my appetite … and so does my sleep. I’m already on medication, and the symptoms seem to be not as extreme as a few years back, but I still feel like crap. My mood goes to shit. I feel like a blob, just waiting for life to happen around me. This is what PMDD feels like. And I hate it with passion.

9 Comments

  1. Dr Carot says:

    Oh please get well better!!! You gave me so much faith during my most uncertain times. Rest if you must, but forget not your net fans cheering for you!

  2. Cheer up, Dr. 27!
    Give yourself enough time to sleep, eat well, rest well.
    Getting better soon!

  3. katychuang says:

    Goodness gracious! That sucks. I have a milder form of PMDD so the symptoms are bad but not like what you go through (mostly feeling zombie-like). I found that eating iron rich foods and iron supplements the 2 wks before expected menstruation helps. As for work, I tell people that I’m a zombie half the month, and usually try to schedule workload so that there’s less deadlines then.

    • Dr. 27 says:

      Yeah, it’s bad. I’m checking my options once again, and seeing if an IUD will help. I’m going in for an evaluation in a few days. We’ll see. If I can skip this thing I’ll be one happy camper. I hope to write about the experience and whether I can get it, or not. Thanks for your kind words 🙂

  4. Alison says:

    I could’ve written this post. With an add-on of a lovely hormonal migraine…so not fair. But i have found that staying hydrated, getting a full nights sleep (even if its via a sleep aid), and an understanding family helps!

    • Dr. 27 says:

      Oh noes :-(. I’m so sorry. Feeling like this and then a migraine to top if off? Hydration does help and my hubby becomes a nurse those days. Here’s to hoping that an IUD will help me. Best wishes!

What's your take?

