27 and a PhD

Home » Job » Organization

Organization

Welcome to my blog!

Hello there, awesome reader. My name is Dr. 27. I'm older than that now, but I'm staying faithful to the origins of the blog.

This blog started 2 months before completing my PhD in a pretty southern university back in 2009. It was a way to practice my writing and take a break from all things thesis. My PhD is in a branch of structural biology where I studied some rather impressive stuff.

After completing the degree, I packed my life of 6 years in 3 days and moved to Canada to do a postdoc in a completely different field. Two years later, and after attending a lot of seminars, workshops and doing some much-needed soul-searching, I ended up getting out and looking for an alternative path to academia and industry.

The blog chronicles my mishaps, ideas, musings and tips on entering, staying and finishing grad school. It also talks about some (or a lot) of personal stuff. For a while, the blog became a place to talk about the frustrations of not knowing what to do after PhD. I wanted to explore alternatives to the traditional paths of research (academia, industry and goverment) whilst going back to my field of training (if at all possible). Eventually a job materialized. Follow my quest as I navigate the waters of being a staff scientist at a core facility.

Calendar

November 2012
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,636 other followers

Follow me

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Been meaning to write this post for.like.ever. But between the hurricane and catching up sleep and getting sick and *finally* feeling like a human I haven’t had a break. That and just as I enter the world of Apple (with my new phone), my computer decides to die, which means that I’ll have to cough up the money eventually to get a new computer, preferably something portable, maybe a laptop or an ultrabook. You see, Murphy’s law is a bitch, just as I’m enjoying my new toy I get my ass kicked in some other way. That and I have no idea where (or even IF) I’m voting tomorrow. Shit.

Because of all this and the constant chaos that’s around my life, I need organization. I need to de-clutter, rearrange and just get a hold my life. I’ve been wasting time and money left and right (more time than money, really). I can never find anything, at home or in the lab. Just yesterday I ventured out for the first time since the hurricane and bought a toothbrush, not realizing that I’d bought another one a week before. DFS.

I’m trying to create a plan, for both work and home. I’m trying to use up a bunch of things I’ve had hanging around, in half-full bottles, for the longest time. Shoes I don’t use and cause me pain are going out of the apt forever. New undies, old ones in the trash. Finally tackling the stacks of unread papers and booking time to care about long forgotten projects.

I guess I’m tired of half done things. I need to be organized, to have control over certain things, which I think in the end will have a positive impact on my life and happiness.

Apologies for the lengthy absence. At least no damage was done to my area and things seem to be well. I’m rooting for NY and NJ and the whole East Coast.

2 Comments

  1. Daimia says:

    You don’t need to cough up the money for a new computer all at once. Companies like Dell and Sony (if you are looking into Windows) offer financing options…with Sony it’s a Credit card and Dell has an in house financing option. So you can pay as little as 20 a month (though I don’t recommend it). I got my laptop and paid it off in about 8 months. If you pay it off in a certain amt of time you may not even have to pay interest.

What's your take?

