27 and a PhD

Home » Job » Random

Random

Welcome to my blog!

Hello there, awesome reader. My name is Dr. 27. I'm older than that now, but I'm staying faithful to the origins of the blog.

This blog started 2 months before completing my PhD in a pretty southern university back in 2009. It was a way to practice my writing and take a break from all things thesis. My PhD is in a branch of structural biology where I studied some rather impressive stuff.

After completing the degree, I packed my life of 6 years in 3 days and moved to Canada to do a postdoc in a completely different field. Two years later, and after attending a lot of seminars, workshops and doing some much-needed soul-searching, I ended up getting out and looking for an alternative path to academia and industry.

The blog chronicles my mishaps, ideas, musings and tips on entering, staying and finishing grad school. It also talks about some (or a lot) of personal stuff. For a while, the blog became a place to talk about the frustrations of not knowing what to do after PhD. I wanted to explore alternatives to the traditional paths of research (academia, industry and goverment) whilst going back to my field of training (if at all possible). Eventually a job materialized. Follow my quest as I navigate the waters of being a staff scientist at a core facility.

Calendar

August 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,627 other followers

Follow me

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

A collection of random thoughts while I wait for the rain to tone down a bit so I can get to the apartment.

  • Ever since I moved to the city I’ve had men, of all sorts of backgrounds, colours and beliefs make comments. Anything from “mami you have a pretty smile” to “hot damn” … even in my not-so-hot-damn days. Seriously, while it may be “cute” to walk past a construction site and have a couple of men remark on how pretty/hot/nice you look. It gets irritating when you get it on a constant basis. Ask yourself, how would you feel if I was making comments, however well-meaning or intentioned, anytime you walk past me. No, I am not your reina, mamasita, grrrr, HOPA or anything like it. In fact, I’m not one. I’m a busy scientist, without make up, and extra weight. When you do that I just want to punch you. I don’t like it, it doesn’t make me smile. It makes me pretty darn uncomfortable. Reminds me a bit of this.
  • Hon is back home. We had a wonderful couple of days together. I miss him, his smile, his touch, his sense of humour, his … everything. Having your best friend gone sucks. Sometimes it almost hurts to breathe. I can’t wait to see him again. I can’t wait to explore the city with him.
  • Work is going good. I seriously learn something new each day. I have regular staff meetings (which I keep calling lab meetings) that last for hours on end. My boss has a shifting mood, so you never know what to expect. That makes it hard sometimes. My labmates are awesome, and it feels really good.
  • I haven’t found a more permanent living solution. Hopefully I’ll beat the hordes of students coming to the city and find a cute and not so tiny place. We’ll see. I’m afraid.
  • I’m doing groceries online. I love it.
  • I’ve become addicted to Chobani‘s pineapple yogurt. And here I thought things didn’t get better past strawberry.
  • I bought a bed and the furniture/delivery people assembled it. I’m afraid of what’s going to happen once I move. I like to take things apart, don’t get me wrong. It’s just too much work.
  • Lately I’ve been thinking that if I have kids at some point, it’s going to be so cool to tell them about all the places I’ve lived.
  • I’m more or less back to Twitter after a hiatus.
  • I got a guest blogging gig … which I need to start pronto.
  • I’m starting on a debt “diet” … but it won’t cover the debts I got in thanks to my dad. For reasons I can’t discuss they won’t be covered. This means there may be a legal battle looming, which I’m not too excited about.
  • I still need to move my stuff to the city. Not looking forward to this.
  • Finally got around to order some business cards. They’re very me, and they were cheap. Let’s see how this turns out.
  • I’m thinking I need to get another umbrella. Mine is totally fine, but I almost always forget it at home, so I’m thinking of having one at work … for days like today.

Totally random, see?

4 Comments

  1. Definitely get an extra umbrella! I always forget mine on public transportation. I keep one in the car, one at home and one in the lab, and today I was still speedwalking through my city without one. I look forward to hearing more about your new non-postdoc job. There aren’t enough non-academic science lady bloggers!

    • Dr. 27 says:

      Awww thank you so much for reading and commenting. I agree, there aren’t enough lady bloggers in non-traditional paths. I hope to continue liking my job enough to keep blogging about it and keep having people come to me and ask questions. I’m always here to help in any way I can. Thanks for your kind comment!!

  2. Anthea says:

    I’m so pleased to hear you sound more upbeat about your job and life in general. Keep blogging about your non-traditional path since I think that there should be more of them….there should be since not everyone who’s been trained to work in the acadmeic world can possibly stay there. There’s just too many of us for starters!

    • Dr. 27 says:

      Thank you so much for your kind words and encouragement Anthea. It is amazing the response to recent entries, the encouragement and how many people would like to keep tabs on how things are going for a non-TT person like me. I hope to do justice and offer some ideas and perspective on the whole job search, being on the fringes of academia, etc. There are indeed way too many of us! I whole-heartedly agree.

What's your take?

