27 and a PhD

Home » Grad school » Thank you and updates

Thank you and updates

Welcome to my blog!

Hello there, awesome reader. My name is Dr. 27. I'm older than that now, but I'm staying faithful to the origins of the blog.

This blog started 2 months before completing my PhD in a pretty southern university back in 2009. It was a way to practice my writing and take a break from all things thesis. My PhD is in a branch of structural biology where I studied some rather impressive stuff.

After completing the degree, I packed my life of 6 years in 3 days and moved to Canada to do a postdoc in a completely different field. Two years later, and after attending a lot of seminars, workshops and doing some much-needed soul-searching, I ended up getting out and looking for an alternative path to academia and industry.

The blog chronicles my mishaps, ideas, musings and tips on entering, staying and finishing grad school. It also talks about some (or a lot) of personal stuff. For a while, the blog became a place to talk about the frustrations of not knowing what to do after PhD. I wanted to explore alternatives to the traditional paths of research (academia, industry and goverment) whilst going back to my field of training (if at all possible). Eventually a job materialized. Follow my quest as I navigate the waters of being a staff scientist at a core facility.

Calendar

February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,636 other followers

Follow me

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Seriously, blogosphere and twitterverse, you blow me away. Thank you for your kindness, emails, DMs, RTs, every tidbit of info on how to do good in an interview, what to ask and when to ask it. I’m deeply, deeply in debt with y’all and if there’s ever anything you need, do write, DM, tweet or email.

So, what’s going on. Well, I did send and informal request to a guy on the other side of the Atlantic and he graciously forwarded my info and CV to PIs he knows. I’m extremely glad for this. I also sent an application to a pretty high-up place in research in Canada. I can’t give too many details, but they wrote back and want to ask me some questions. I’m not sure whether this is a prelim interview or what, but I’m hopeful. We’ll see how that pans out.

I’m getting ready to deliver a tiny little talk on the class I signed up for as a lecturer. It’s only one lecture and it’s very short. Slightly longer than a TED talk, but nothing too fancy. I’ll be introducing the topic and technique I loved while in grad school. That’s happening soon and I almost can’t breathe. Seriously, I feel like I don’t want to do a bad job and I want to convey the correct idea, limitations and uses of this approach. I just hope that what I prepared it enough and that students will like it.

I also have an interview in the next couple of days. I won’t go into too much detail, but it’s a nice place and the PI has been extremely nice by keeping me on the loop. I really like this position, but I’m a bit worried I’m too junior for it. We’ll see. I’ve been to visit this place once before, many moons ago, so it will be a nice break from the lab and my frustrations. I look at it as a mini vacation. I go to a nice place, meet (hopefully) nice people, I give a short talk on what I consider my strengths and they see if I’m a good fit for it and them. I was asking about interview tips for this as I’ve never interviewed as staff for anything in my life, and since this is in an academic setting but not as a postdoc or research faculty I wasn’t sure of what to expect. I still don’t know what to expect, but I’ve got some good feedback and tips and I feel more confident.

For now this is it. I will be off the radar for a few days, as I take care of the interview (or interviews) … so if I don’t update as much, or tweet as often, it is because of these things keeping be super busy.

Thanks for reading and for understanding. I hope to emerge somewhat triumphant from this, especially after sending in all these applications. I hope things work during this cycle.

Cheers!

6 Comments

  1. Lakia Gordon says:

    Pretty impressive! I’m shooting for my Doctorate too 🙂 Good luck with your journey after the degree!

  2. katiesci says:

    So exciting! I’ll be sending good thoughts out to you!

  3. Anthea says:

    Fabulous news! Thank you for the update! It sounds as if the universe is throwing good things at you at the moment! Yay!!!

What's your take?

