27 and a PhD

Home » Job » Resolutions: 2011 edition

Resolutions: 2011 edition

Welcome to my blog!

Hello there, awesome reader. My name is Dr. 27. I'm older than that now, but I'm staying faithful to the origins of the blog.

This blog started 2 months before completing my PhD in a pretty southern university back in 2009. It was a way to practice my writing and take a break from all things thesis. My PhD is in a branch of structural biology where I studied some rather impressive stuff.

After completing the degree, I packed my life of 6 years in 3 days and moved to Canada to do a postdoc in a completely different field. Two years later, and after attending a lot of seminars, workshops and doing some much-needed soul-searching, I ended up getting out and looking for an alternative path to academia and industry.

The blog chronicles my mishaps, ideas, musings and tips on entering, staying and finishing grad school. It also talks about some (or a lot) of personal stuff. For a while, the blog became a place to talk about the frustrations of not knowing what to do after PhD. I wanted to explore alternatives to the traditional paths of research (academia, industry and goverment) whilst going back to my field of training (if at all possible). Eventually a job materialized. Follow my quest as I navigate the waters of being a staff scientist at a core facility.

Calendar

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,643 other followers

Follow me

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Good day y’all lovely readers. Happy 2011!!! I hope this year brings to your life much success and joy. I’ve been back for almost 1 week and I am having a hard time adjusting.  It’s not that I don’t love being close to honey and a shielded from my parent’s money woes. But I really don’t like what I’m doing at work, and though I am trying to focus on the positive and be proactive and think that by sometime this summer (if not earlier) I may be in a different job, it is hard to keep my focus and stay positive when all my being screams is “I want to be free.”

Anyway. Current lack of love for my work apart, I am trying to set a series of goals to hopefully end 2011 on better ground. I have to say that I don’t have much love for new year’s resolutions, but in a way I think this helps me keep track of goals (because I am a list whore) and also be accountable at the end of the year. I was looking at some of the goals I’d set up for 2010 (here) and I am pretty pleased with how things look and how I did manage to achieve some of those goals.

So, without further ado, here’s the 2011 list of goals for Dr. 29:

  1. Find a job that a) offers some sort of financial stability and pays better than current one … and possibly allows me to be close to all my family, parents, sis, nephew and of course, the boyfriend. DONE
  2. Sell my car so I can free up some cash for the move, wherever it ends up being. I love my car, it works well, it’s reliable, but I may not be able (more like willing) to drive to where I hope to relocate, so if I can manage to sell it for as close to its current value as possible it will be a win/win. Need to fix papers, and such. Hopefully will happen in 2012.
  3. Finally get to  150 lbs. No excuses. This may involve a visit to the gym and a serious improvement in the diet. So I hope to report on this as the year goes by. At my highest of 195, I’m at 186lbs right now (December ’11).
  4. Increase readership of the blog and hopefully be more upbeat on my posts. I hope to post more frequently (and yes, I still owe you the 29 and a PhD guide to Spain). In the works
  5. Decrease, in a significant manner, the amount of my physical possessions. Be either by throwing away useless stuff, free-cycling, donating or selling. I want to make a move to more conscientious living, starting with a dramatic de-cluttering session (or sessions) and a simpler, more environmentally friendly living. More of less done, due to the move.
  6. Get the 2nd and 3rd tattoos. I have a few clues and hopefully these will be my last. I want something small and cute, and nerdy. I’m leaning towards a character from Mario Bros. …. as I adore these games and the instantly bring a smile to my face, no matter what.
  7. Eliminate debt #4 from my list once and for all. I am so very close it’s not funny y’all. Will happen by December 31st of this year. I’m only 21$ away.
  8. Be a better friend and keep in contact with my loved ones by calling or emailing more often. Always a work in progress
  9. Take kitty to the vet and have her checked out for everything. She hasn’t been to the vet’s office since we moved. I know, I am a bad mother and I hope to improve on this. Done!
  10. Get the DSLR I want for my birthday, no excuses allowed. This point-and-shoot business is tiring. I can’t do anything I want anymore as I don’t have as much freedom as I need. Hopefully better photos will help handle the stress of all those other 9 resolutions. Not happening since my trusty 3 yr old P&S died and had to get an emergency replacement.

As always, I hope to report as soon as I can and I may be adding or adjusting as needed, so do check in often. Best wishes to you. Now back to work!

9 Comments

  1. Cherish says:

    Good luck with your resolutions. I’ve been looking at my goals and already wondering what I’ve got myself into. 🙂

    • Dr. 29 says:

      I know what you mean Cherish! But I think even if we only achieve a subset of what we wanted to, it’s still pretty good in my book. Thanks for visiting and commenting 🙂

  2. Like the new layout. Not a bad set of resolutions.

    • Dr. 29 says:

      Thanks for visiting man! And yes, I love this layout too. It’s clean and crisp. It’s how I want my life to start looking like in 2011. Thanks for the comment.

  3. Anthea says:

    I like your resolutions…I suspect that many of us want a job that actually pays us what we’re worth interms of our skill set, assists us in getting rid of student debts and enables to live where we’d like to live. Good luck with them!

    • Dr. 29 says:

      Indeed Anthea. After attending a career seminar a few days ago I realized that I’ve been living like a student for so long. I long for some sort of stability and the chance to visit my family and not pinch pennies to do so. I also want to get rid of some pesky credit card debt. At my current job I’m staying barely above water. And since I may be finishing here soon, I hope to start earning some real cash to help fund those dreams. I also learned that sometimes we don’t know our real value. So I’m hoping for bigger, better things this year. Thanks for visiting and commenting.

  4. […] hey, I had to test that to back it up, right?). I started looking for positions back then, though I had no clue of where I’d end up, or if I’d be in science at all. I contacted a prof at my college […]

  5. […] make any promises. That was enough for me to get a glimmer of hope, maybe all was not lost. One of my 2011 resolutions was to get out of my postdoc lab, with or without a job. I didn’t want to go back to the lab […]

What's your take?

