27 and a PhD

Home » Grad school » For now, at least for this weekend

For now, at least for this weekend

Welcome to my blog!

Hello there, awesome reader. My name is Dr. 27. I'm older than that now, but I'm staying faithful to the origins of the blog.

This blog started 2 months before completing my PhD in a pretty southern university back in 2009. It was a way to practice my writing and take a break from all things thesis. My PhD is in a branch of structural biology where I studied some rather impressive stuff.

After completing the degree, I packed my life of 6 years in 3 days and moved to Canada to do a postdoc in a completely different field. Two years later, and after attending a lot of seminars, workshops and doing some much-needed soul-searching, I ended up getting out and looking for an alternative path to academia and industry.

The blog chronicles my mishaps, ideas, musings and tips on entering, staying and finishing grad school. It also talks about some (or a lot) of personal stuff. For a while, the blog became a place to talk about the frustrations of not knowing what to do after PhD. I wanted to explore alternatives to the traditional paths of research (academia, industry and goverment) whilst going back to my field of training (if at all possible). Eventually a job materialized. Follow my quest as I navigate the waters of being a staff scientist at a core facility.

Calendar

October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,627 other followers

Follow me

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

I shall not speak ill of my place of work, the people in it, my co-workers, boss or departmental neighbours. I am not trying to keep a positive attitude, but I am not speaking ill of anyone. All the frustrations from work marinate in my mind and heart every living, breathing second. It can’t be good for me. This too shall pass, and for now, for the next 48 hours I will not speak ill, or mention my work, labmates, boss …. or anyone from school for that matter.

I usually don’t have big plans for the weekend (other than the scheduled trip to a film festival, or going to the farmer’s market), but I do plan on prepping a batch of spring rolls, which are a)amazingly easy to make, and b) give me a happy purpose, since I love washing, cutting, organising and putting all the ingredients together to make a yummy dish, or appetizer. I do have one mission this weekend, to find a perfect sauce to go with them, but not something sweet. I want something slightly spicy, but not burning-hot. I want to be able to savour each flavour. Yum!

If you have any ideas, or any recipes to make a yummy, spicy, non-sweet spring roll sauce, please share πŸ™‚

Thank you, and thanks for the kind words, DMs and tweets. It’s nice to see that I am not alone and that others have found a way to figure what to do, and how to change for the better.

2 Comments

  1. Kate says:

    http://closetcooking.blogspot.com/2007/11/peanut-sauce.html

    Or, the student version equivalent – peanut butter, soy sauce, hot chili sauce, and broth/coconut milk/water – any liquid to dilute.

  2. Dr. 29 says:

    Thanks for your suggestion! I’ll be sure to try it. Thanks for visiting πŸ™‚

What's your take?

