27 and a PhD

Home » Me » I’m a fat scientist

I’m a fat scientist

Welcome to my blog!

Hello there, awesome reader. My name is Dr. 27. I'm older than that now, but I'm staying faithful to the origins of the blog.

This blog started 2 months before completing my PhD in a pretty southern university back in 2009. It was a way to practice my writing and take a break from all things thesis. My PhD is in a branch of structural biology where I studied some rather impressive stuff.

After completing the degree, I packed my life of 6 years in 3 days and moved to Canada to do a postdoc in a completely different field. Two years later, and after attending a lot of seminars, workshops and doing some much-needed soul-searching, I ended up getting out and looking for an alternative path to academia and industry.

The blog chronicles my mishaps, ideas, musings and tips on entering, staying and finishing grad school. It also talks about some (or a lot) of personal stuff. For a while, the blog became a place to talk about the frustrations of not knowing what to do after PhD. I wanted to explore alternatives to the traditional paths of research (academia, industry and goverment) whilst going back to my field of training (if at all possible). Eventually a job materialized. Follow my quest as I navigate the waters of being a staff scientist at a core facility.

Calendar

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,635 other followers

Follow me

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Some people think that because you have a PhD in science or health-related disciplines that you’ll automatically be the epitome of health and good-eating habits. And while there are responsible students, postdocs and PIs who eat their 5 portions of fruits and veggies and exercise I am not one of them. My last 3 PIs have been in shape, eating their fruits, carrying their home-made goodies and being overall examples of a healthy lifestyle.

Enter me, a 29-year-old female with poor eating habits, a size 30-something waist with a desire to do exercise only comparable to the Duggar’s ability to stop procreating … yeah right.

I’ve always had poor eating habits. Stemming from a doctor’s suspicion that I’d developed super fast compared to my peers, I was put on a diet restricting all sorts of animal protein. I don’t think it worked as I still developed fast, but instead my eating habits turned me into a junk-food addict. I guess my parents wanted me to eat something, so nuggets and processed foods it was. I never developed a liking to meats, other than nuggets and fake-burgers from BK, and milk really never called my name.

Now, as an adult I’m facing the constant lure of junk food, the only food I know and love. This has caused me to balloon up from my starting weight in grad school of around 150lbs, to over 180lbs. You might think well, this isn’t a huge deal. But I’m short. As in, even if I wear super high heels (which I can’t because the weight I’ve put on has caused my heels and arch to hurt like crazy) I still don’t get to kiss the BF without having him lean over.

Conclusion: I’m fat. And I’m not proud of it. I look at my cheeks, mid-section and arms and I feel disgusted by what I see. Not only that, but I’m super lazy when it comes to working out, and when I do,  I lose the faith instantly, sit back on the couch and eat ice cream.

I am tired. I’m tired of never having enough energy. Of having to buy everything in an XXL, or size 14 or more. I’m tired of not being able to wear cute sandals and of my boobs being 3X their normal size. I’m tired of feeling tired, of looking like a fridge in the mirror, all squared everywhere.

I eventually want to be a mom and I’d hate for my kids to see me like I am today, fat, feeling ugly and unhealthy. I’ve tried many things, but I can’t seem to bring myself to sticking to something and just doing it. But I made a promise to drop some of the pounds before my 30th birthday. I feel I can do it.I just don’t know how …. stay tuned for a new section on the blog dedicated to turning myself into “29 and a PhD AND a killer bod.”

6 Comments

  1. Diana says:

    Keep us posted. I am the fattest I’ve ever been at 180 pounds 5’5″ and I am miserable.

  2. Dr. 29 says:

    Thank you Diana! I get you. I’m 186 at 5’6.5″ and I feel you :-(. Thanks for your comment and I will keep the interwebz updated by adding a tab to my blog.

  3. Diana says:

    You are welcome and thank you. I’m thinking of joining a gym or TOPS or WW. I gotta do something because I hate this size. I’m still squeezing into a 12 but I really need a 14. YUCK!! I want to be a 7 or even a 9.

    • Dr. 29 says:

      You’re way too cool. Thanks for the comment. I have yet to prepare the tab, but rest assured, it will come. I tried WW before. I dropped 21 lbs (and gained them, again). I loved being a size 7/8 and I def. hate buying thins in XL or XXL. So, I’ll include some of that. I’m super lazy, but I’m thinking on 1st shrinking the amount of food I eat, then drag myself to the elliptical machines (the only machine kind enough to these 29yr old knees and some strength training to help burn fat. I also HAVE to eat better as I still eat ramen noodles once a week (shame, even though I’m not a grad student anymore, hehe). Good luck to us!

  4. Diana says:

    Hey Dr.

    How are you doing? Me? Not so good. I just ate a movie theater size box of malted milk balls. Now I feel sick!!

    • Dr. 29 says:

      Hi there Diana! Thanks for checking in. Well, I’m Ok, but before I embark on a kick-a$$ regular workout schedule I have to fix my feet. Turns out I need to get orthotics and treatment as my feet (either because of the weight, the many hours standing up at the lab or all those cute ballerina flats in college) are killing me. I’m still looking for a doctor, but I am also checking out gyms close to home so maybe, maybe, I can try to meet with a trainer to help me with a routine that won’t kill my heels and arches :-(. I’m sorry about the malted milk balls. For me it’s vanilla ice cream with bits of oreo cookies and coloured sprinkles. I’m hoping that by december I’ll be 10-15lbs lighter. I created a tab on the blog to update the interwebz on my progress. Feel free to check it out in a few weeks and see how I’m doing. Hugs and best wishes, I’m cheering for you 🙂

What's your take?

