27 and a PhD

Home » Job » Vacation destination

Vacation destination

Welcome to my blog!

Hello there, awesome reader. My name is Dr. 27. I'm older than that now, but I'm staying faithful to the origins of the blog.

This blog started 2 months before completing my PhD in a pretty southern university back in 2009. It was a way to practice my writing and take a break from all things thesis. My PhD is in a branch of structural biology where I studied some rather impressive stuff.

After completing the degree, I packed my life of 6 years in 3 days and moved to Canada to do a postdoc in a completely different field. Two years later, and after attending a lot of seminars, workshops and doing some much-needed soul-searching, I ended up getting out and looking for an alternative path to academia and industry.

The blog chronicles my mishaps, ideas, musings and tips on entering, staying and finishing grad school. It also talks about some (or a lot) of personal stuff. For a while, the blog became a place to talk about the frustrations of not knowing what to do after PhD. I wanted to explore alternatives to the traditional paths of research (academia, industry and goverment) whilst going back to my field of training (if at all possible). Eventually a job materialized. Follow my quest as I navigate the waters of being a staff scientist at a core facility.

Calendar

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,644 other followers

Follow me

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

I have not checked my blog in like … forever. It’s been such a couple of really intense weeks, as my days off get closer and closer. I’ve done a thousand and one experiments, left things ready for my coming back and now, I’m so very close it’s surreal. The boss’s excitement is still noticeable and I’m so very happy for that.

Being so close means that I can reveal the destination. The BF and I are going to …. Spain!!!! Oh I’m so very excited. I’ve visited a couple of European countries and I can definitely see myself visiting Spain. We are keeping a somewhat open schedule, and will get to spend a few days at the capital, Madrid. We’re thiking about going to Seville, Cuenca and Toledo, but we’ll see. I’d personally love to go to Granada, but it may be too costly and farther than we want to go (or have time to go). When I’m not doing research on my project I’m doing research on Spain and Madrid. And I’ve also found a few guides for Madrid and surrounding areas, like here and here. I can’t wait to get there. For a few months now I’ve been saving money and exchanging whatever I can into Euros. I’ve been carefully planning outfits, and covering all the bases so that it is an enjoyable experience. I know some spanish, thus I hope we can navigate our way through the country. I’m thinking we’ll mostly stay within the centre and south of Spain. And we also know it’s going to be super, super hot. Therefore I’m taking a bunch of shorts, a dress or two, comfy shoes and a bottle of water so I stay hydrated.

We leave in a few days and will be there until mid-July. I certainly won’t be able to update from there, but I hope to have my own guide (photos included!) or at least an entry or two about what we did and how we spent our vacation.

More to come in mid-July! Au revoir. Adios!

What's your take?

