27 and a PhD

Home » Me » Saturday outing – a traveling couple

Saturday outing – a traveling couple

Welcome to my blog!

Hello there, awesome reader. My name is Dr. 27. I'm older than that now, but I'm staying faithful to the origins of the blog.

This blog started 2 months before completing my PhD in a pretty southern university back in 2009. It was a way to practice my writing and take a break from all things thesis. My PhD is in a branch of structural biology where I studied some rather impressive stuff.

After completing the degree, I packed my life of 6 years in 3 days and moved to Canada to do a postdoc in a completely different field. Two years later, and after attending a lot of seminars, workshops and doing some much-needed soul-searching, I ended up getting out and looking for an alternative path to academia and industry.

The blog chronicles my mishaps, ideas, musings and tips on entering, staying and finishing grad school. It also talks about some (or a lot) of personal stuff. For a while, the blog became a place to talk about the frustrations of not knowing what to do after PhD. I wanted to explore alternatives to the traditional paths of research (academia, industry and goverment) whilst going back to my field of training (if at all possible). Eventually a job materialized. Follow my quest as I navigate the waters of being a staff scientist at a core facility.

Calendar

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,644 other followers

Follow me

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

I joke sometimes with the BF that we are a traveling couple since our first date took place between NYC and Boston (we absolutely LOVE Bean town) and ever since then we’ve traveled to many, many places … particularly since the BF likes to go on little outings during the weekend.

I love to travel, I do, but in the cold weather it’s kinda hard, especially when I don’t know any super awesome tricks to de-fog the windows in the car.  So sometimes I’m a bit …. mmmm, anal about traveling, especially if driving is involved. I do the driving because a) it’s my car, b) I’m a control freak, and c) the BF is awesome with the GPS his parents got us for Xmas a few years back.

So today we went close to Lake Huron. During the summer we were in a lovely town, about 45 minutes from home, but there are a whole bunch of other little towns around the lakes. We’ve been to one of the cutest towns ever, one called Niagara-on-the-Lake which has a quaint Main St. filled with lovely little shops. Today’s town was no exception. Many little stores filled with glassy-artsy things, colourful clothes and a few with some very pricey tags. Nonetheless I managed to score a lovely and colourful mouse for the BF’s mom, a lovely owl dish (tiny, less than 5 in), and a kitty cat with a springy tail. I heart cats like you have no idea. Then we went to a jewelry/metal store where the had a BOGO sale, and I scored 2 lovely pairs to earrings, with squares and colourful bits.

We drove back to our place, stopped to get a cup of hot cocoa (with soy milk) and on I went to look at snow boots. Poor girl at the mall .. I feel for her. I went in to the store, tried about 3/4 pairs, left with none. Then, when we finally got home I scored a pair of snow shoes from Landsend for 35$, shipping included.

Overall it was a lovely day. I’m super happy with the findings, and most of all, the BF is happy because we didn’t spend the day bored at home, instead we visited Lake Huron, all frozen (or at least as far as we could tell), all lovely. Now I have to start collecting and storing all the ornaments and candles, and such.

How was your weekend?

1 Comment

What's your take?

