27 and a PhD

Home » Me » 30 Things to do Before 30

30 Things to do Before 30

Welcome to my blog!

Hello there, awesome reader. My name is Dr. 27. I'm older than that now, but I'm staying faithful to the origins of the blog.

This blog started 2 months before completing my PhD in a pretty southern university back in 2009. It was a way to practice my writing and take a break from all things thesis. My PhD is in a branch of structural biology where I studied some rather impressive stuff.

After completing the degree, I packed my life of 6 years in 3 days and moved to Canada to do a postdoc in a completely different field. Two years later, and after attending a lot of seminars, workshops and doing some much-needed soul-searching, I ended up getting out and looking for an alternative path to academia and industry.

The blog chronicles my mishaps, ideas, musings and tips on entering, staying and finishing grad school. It also talks about some (or a lot) of personal stuff. For a while, the blog became a place to talk about the frustrations of not knowing what to do after PhD. I wanted to explore alternatives to the traditional paths of research (academia, industry and goverment) whilst going back to my field of training (if at all possible). Eventually a job materialized. Follow my quest as I navigate the waters of being a staff scientist at a core facility.

Calendar

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,644 other followers

Follow me

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

So, following in the footsteps of one of my fave bloggers, Red, I’m compiling a list of 30 things I’d like to do before I turn 30 (which will happen in 2011, I’m turning 28 in ~4 weeks, YAY!).

Here we go intertube beetchez:

  1. Cut my hair, again, super short like when I was in college. See, I’ve always had medium length to long hair and when I was in college I decided to do something drastic and chop off ~10 inches of hair one Friday afternoon. I look at pictures of me back then and I totally dig the look, but since I’m overweight right now (I was ~140, size 6-8, now I’m 183, size 12-14) I need to … DONE. As of 09-21-09 my hair ifsofficially short. Not super, super short, but definitely a lot shorter than usual :-D. At the end of April 2010 I got a stylist which gave me the most awesome haircut. Thank you Carmen!
  2. Lose those darn 43 pounds, or at least get back to the 145-155 range. Stupid grad school stress is driving me nuts. I cannot sleep well unless it’s a Saturday, therefore …
  3. I need to finish my PhD. I started this thing back in 2003 and I need to finish pronto so I can move in with the boyfriend, start a new job, travel all the way north so I can … DONE
  4. Relocate to Canada. Yup, that’s right, I will be moving to eastern Canada sometime around the summer. Don’t be fooled, the Ice Box gets pretty darn hot in the summer … and of course SUPER cold in the *gulp* 8 months of friggin’ cold weather, but I’m in love with the dude and I must go if we want to have this thing work out without the long distance we’ve had for 2 or the 4 years we’ve been together. DONE
  5. Saw my own bikini or bathing suit, because I like the fit of some undies I would like to have swim apparel sawn by me which fits like it should, not like a store bought thing. Nice fitting undies would be the way to guide my creation.
  6. Get a 2nd tattoo …. I’m a Nintendo Freak, thus I’m in love with those 1Up mushroom tats that look pixelated. They look so very cute and remind me of my childhood.
  7. Visit my grams tomb more often. I don’t visit it very often because though she’s been dead for more than 10 years, I still miss her like crazy. I love to talk to her, I think her soul is now part of the universe, but still, I’d like to talk to her there.
  8. Buy a kick a** DSLR so I can snap kick a** pics of everything I like and post them on my Flickr.
  9. Pay off all of my credit card debt, which now is ~20K. I hope to get rid of two of them this year … we’ll see.
  10. If I have a kid before 30, have a natural birth. Turned 30 in July, and definitely, NOT planning on any kids this year, or next, or the one after that.
  11. Live for a few months, if not 1 year without coke or any carbonated drinks.
  12. Go back to Europe and spend a LOT less, preferably after paying off credit card debt and use cash only. Done BITCHEZ!! Blog post coming soon (as of Sept 3, 2010). Yeeepeeeeee.
  13. Throw away, donate or sell everything I don’t need and live a simpler life … without too much stuff. DONE … because of #4 … it feels great 🙂
  14. Have my own website and learn HTML, Perl, Java, etc….
  15. Get Adobe Photoshop and/or Illustrator. The boyfriend bought a new computer which came with Adobe Photoshop and Premiere Elements, so I can mark this one off. I really enjoy working with PS.
  16. Get a kick a** laptop.
  17. Get waxed or lasered on a regular basis so I can kiss goodbye to the annoying hairs on my legs.
  18. Get laser treatment for acne scars.
  19. Plant my own garden and grow my own fruits and veggies, or at least my own lavender so I can make my own yummy smelling soaps 🙂
  20. Get a best female friend with whom I can share girl-stuff that might bore my BF (bless his heart), go shopping, waxing, etc.
  21. Fix my lovely college watch and use it again … but # 2 HAS to come true in order for it to fit :-S
  22. Run a 5k or something similar once I’m fit so I can stop feeling like a slob
  23. Get a nice check up of my tubes and uterus to see why I keep having painful periods …. or remove them if possible (I know it’s crazy, but I’m tired of the stupid pain) …. at least I’ll know if I can bear children or not.
  24. Go thrifting at least once to see what’s all about. Where we live a bunch of people throw out tons of stuff, so instead of thrifting, we free-cycle. That’s how I got my computer monitor, a chair for our dining table and a coffee table. I’ve also gotten a couple more things, especially decorative stuff.
  25. Go to a spa.
  26. Visit Chicago & San Fran … two cities I’ve heard great stuff about but never visited 😦
  27. Go back to Amherst, MA and spend a day or two there so I can reminisce of my lovely summer there.
  28. Visit Cape Hatteras and spend the day snapping pics of the lovely lighthouse there 🙂
  29. Sponsor my local public radio/TV station.

Here you have it friends of the interwebz. Now share yours!

5 Comments

  1. So does the year without caffeine have to be all at once, or can it accumulate? 🙂

  2. stitchchick says:

    Thanks for commenting Red. Well …. I guess it can accumulate! LOL :-). I’ve tried it in the past, I’m lucky in the sense that I can live without coffee …. but coke and soft drinks just about kills me. My eating habits (or lack of) drive my BF crazy!

  3. Tattooing is about personalizing the body, making it a true home and fit temple for the spirit that dwells inside it…. Tattooing therefore, is a way of keeping the spiritual and material needs of my body in balance. ~Michelle Delio

  4. Yalemi says:

    How’s it going with the goals? I just found your blog and am hooked 🙂

What's your take?

