Home » Job » Pissed

Pissed

Welcome to my blog!

Hello there, awesome reader. My name is Dr. 27. I'm older than that now, but I'm staying faithful to the origins of the blog.

This blog started 2 months before completing my PhD in a pretty southern university back in 2009. It was a way to practice my writing and take a break from all things thesis. My PhD is in a branch of structural biology where I studied some rather impressive stuff.

After completing the degree, I packed my life of 6 years in 3 days and moved to Canada to do a postdoc in a completely different field. Two years later, and after attending a lot of seminars, workshops and doing some much-needed soul-searching, I ended up getting out and looking for an alternative path to academia and industry.

The blog chronicles my mishaps, ideas, musings and tips on entering, staying and finishing grad school. It also talks about some (or a lot) of personal stuff. For a while, the blog became a place to talk about the frustrations of not knowing what to do after PhD. I wanted to explore alternatives to the traditional paths of research (academia, industry and goverment) whilst going back to my field of training (if at all possible). Eventually a job materialized. Follow my quest as I navigate the waters of being a staff scientist at a core facility.

Calendar

April 2011
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,005 other followers

Follow me

Right now my biggest regret is doing a PhD in something I enjoyed which is now causing me a lot of heartache and frustration, as I can’t find a fucking job in my fucking field … and I have less than 2 months to do so as I’ll be unemployed and broke by mid-June. Of the 6 or so interviews I had, only 1 resulted in an offer, which I could not take since I’m not Canadian. And the ones I think I’d be a good fit for … at least from my perspective, have replied with a big fat no or we’re considering other, more qualified candidates. Fuck you too more qualified candidates.

I’m tired of this .. beyond tired, I simply can’t do this. I don’t know enough comp sci to fool the comp sci people, the technique I mastered is not the main one in the general field that the technique is a spawn of, and I hate molbio, so I can’t do that either. I can’t do this anymore. I’m considering hiding my PhD from an application to McD’s and hopefully I can find a job that way. Hon just asked me, very sheepishly what we’d do if my the 1st week of June I’m jobless. I just wanted to cry … which I am as I write this. It is so unfair.

That’s all. So, if you’re a fucking PhD student … get out while you can (especially if you’re not sure the tenure-track is for you) and start doing something else. Even if you love what you do, consider your possibilities once you’re done …. don’t be like me. Nobody wants me.

That’s all.

