Home » Grad school » Graduation is fast approaching, and more tidbits

Graduation is fast approaching, and more tidbits

Welcome to my blog!

Hello there, awesome reader. My name is Dr. 27. I'm older than that now, but I'm staying faithful to the origins of the blog.

This blog started 2 months before completing my PhD in a pretty southern university back in 2009. It was a way to practice my writing and take a break from all things thesis. My PhD is in a branch of structural biology where I studied some rather impressive stuff.

After completing the degree, I packed my life of 6 years in 3 days and moved to Canada to do a postdoc in a completely different field. Two years later, and after attending a lot of seminars, workshops and doing some much-needed soul-searching, I ended up getting out and looking for an alternative path to academia and industry.

The blog chronicles my mishaps, ideas, musings and tips on entering, staying and finishing grad school. It also talks about some (or a lot) of personal stuff. For a while, the blog became a place to talk about the frustrations of not knowing what to do after PhD. I wanted to explore alternatives to the traditional paths of research (academia, industry and goverment) whilst going back to my field of training (if at all possible). Eventually a job materialized. Follow my quest as I navigate the waters of being a staff scientist at a core facility.

Calendar

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,004 other followers

Follow me

Greetings blogosphere!

I’m just days away from flying out to see my old labmates, my previous boss and the remaining friends that have yet to defend at my old school. It feels warm and familiar, to drive around the places I left last July, to meet and greet people, to celebrate my PhD all formal. I’m excited to be around familiar faces, to go back and enjoy old sights, sounds and feelings. When I look back at those 6 years, it feels surreal, like it almost didn’t happen, but it did. It’s all real. I’m a postdoc now, and I have moved on somewhat, though it pains me to be far from the familiarity of it all. Don’t get me wrong, I’m finally letting my guard down and enjoying life in Canada to the fullest. A few weeks back I had this moment, almost an epiphan,y about how life used to be, and how it is now. How things keep on moving, soon after one is done, and that my life, career path and success only started in grad school, and I have thousands of miles to travel still.

I bought a dress I thought I could afford, it’s lovely and colourful, and I’m excited to be there. I also purchased an awesome pair of flats, since the graduation guidelines encourage students to wear nice but comfy clothes, and shoes which facilitate moving around flawlessly, effortlessly, and, in the event of rain, allow you to run to a safe haven until things calm down I opted for that. I get into town late, so I will have to wake up extra early, pick up my gown and hope and pray that my pevious PI and friends will find the graduation spot.

My parents cannot be there, and the BF and a bunch of grad school friends will meet me there.

In other news, I have yet to achieve concrete results for my project. I can safely say now that those first months in which I was doing 2 to 3 FPLC runs (per day) with all sorts of columns were not a waste, as I have my protein reservoir stocked with some of my most needed materials. But, I go through it so fast it’s crazy, so I’m gearing up to spend a few more weeks stocking up. Since we’ll get tons of summer students, and some grad students are finishing it will be crazy to find the time. I do hope I can spend some quality time doing my thing without too much trouble and I can replenish my protein stock. I have yet to get my hands on heavier equipment and techniques, but I’m hopeful there will be a away in which we can troubleshoot and move ahead with my project. I can truly say it will be a kick ass thing, and I hope that in the year I have left I can achieve something, at least get it on its way so someone else can take over and move it further.

My family is about to welcome a new addition, my nephew which will soon be with us. I cannot wait to hold him in my arms, to say sweet things to him, to savour his presence and soak up some of the goodness that comes with babies.

I’m getting ready for a possible European vacation, for which I’ll give more details once I’m fully convinced I will not be killed for asking for 3 weeks off during the summer. I’m sure the boss is nice enough not to put up a fight, or a nasty face, but still I’m hesitant about asking for vacays, seeing that I haven’t pushed my project extra far. I mean, I have results, the boss has seen them. They’re just not what was expected. And while I’m sure I’m not the culprit, it still makes me feel uncomfortable when I have very little to show and much to try.

Other than that, nothing else is going on for now. Life is good and I’m hoping for bigger, better things.

To all graduate students who will walk this may, enjoy, congratulations. YOU DESERVE IT!

3 Comments

  1. Alexandra says:

    Congrats for your PhD!
    So tell us more, how was it? Is your diploma super cool? Are you going to frame it? ;)

  2. 28 says:

    Thank you for reminding me Alexandra. I’ve putting it off out of sheer laziness. I’m going to start writing it today and hope to finish and post soon. Thanks for visiting :-)

  3. [...] was born. A healthy, little blue-eyed prince with chubby cheeks and blonde  hair ….. awwwww. I learned that the BF and I would be visiting Spain for a few days for a little summer getaway (and graduation gift, [...]

What's your take?

